Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising has become an essential mean in our world to grab attention to any product. It is arguable whether it is really effective in persuading us to buy certain things or that it is so common that it lost its power to attract people. Personally, I think it is still susceptible of grabbing our attention to what companies want us to buy. Advertisements take now many shapes and formats than in the past so we can see them more often. Internet and modern technology have facilitated the way ads are shown to us which saved companies effort and time. For instance, on any social media site we can see it is flooded with advertisements of a diverse range of products. Observing these products more often and keeping up-to-date with new offers and sales presented by markets definitely make us more vulnerable to buy these things in the future. Nevertheless, the fact that advertisements became more viewed by consumers may discourage them from buying the targeted products as many people don't actually enjoy seeing irrelevant ads which try to persuade them to buy things they don't need or are not fussed with. Furthermore, some TV advertisements may be too traditional or lack the creativity required to attract more customers consequently fewer people are interested in what actually the ad is about. To sum up, I am a firm believer that ads are vitally important for successful marketing despite being annoying sometimes, they are capable of influencing our choices and tendencies.