Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisement is one of the marketing channels used by sellers to attract buyers, advertising main purpose is to inform buyers about their products and it can be in various forms like billboards, TV media, radio, newspaper, and the internet. Generally advertisements target certain group of people to buy the products, this group in marketing is called targeted segment, so not all ads are effective to all people in the same way. Advertising is like anything in the world, it has advantages and disadvantages. First let us talk about its advantages, sellers use this marketing channel in order to inform their customers with their products, so that they can increase their profits, on the other hand for buyers or customers advertisement's advantages is to get information about products in the market that can help them in their lives or satisfy their needs. Advertising's disadvantages are so many, for example some ads may persuade certain category of people to buy their products, which they are in no need of them, these categories can be children where ads on toys, food and sweets, women where ads on clothes and other stuff as well, another disadvantage specially advertising on the world wide web is the usage of personal and private information of people on many websites including Facebook, twitter & Instagram, they use these information to personalize ads for each person. Finally advertising is a two edged sword, it gives people information on products that can help them in their lives, in other words make their lives easier, and it can persuade them psychologically to buy stuff they don't need.