Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an irrefutable fact that chemicals such as flavour enhancers, preservatives, artificial colours and various stabilizers are added to convenient meals. Although there are certain advantages to this practice such as increase in the life of a product and enhancement of taste, the main drawbacks are that it has harmful effects in the long run and these chemicals make a person addicted to these foods. In my opinion, the disadvantages of these chemicals outweigh the advantages they offer. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits to using these chemicals in the food. The first one is that it helps to increase the shelf-life of a product. This is because generally the life of the food is short and this makes them easily perishable. In order to tackle this issue, the manufacturers add these chemicals. For example, at least 98% of the processed food contains preservatives to add life and freshness to the product. Another advantage is that it enhances the taste and flavour of the food. In other words, these chemicals make the food more delicious regardless of their impact on one’s health and as a result, companies make a lot of profit. Despite the advantages above, I believe that there are some serious drawbacks to this trend. One potential issue is that these chemicals have a long lasting impact on one’s health. This is because they can cause serious health ailments such as cardiac issues, cancer and may also damage the central nervous system. Another disadvantage is that these chemicals are addictive in nature. This encourages a person to eat these foods very often and thereby increases the chances of these health ailments. In conclusion, the serious health consequences of preservatives far outweigh the mere benefits of longer shelf-life and taste enhancement. Hence, it is recommended to eat home cooked meal to stay healthy.