Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a fact the advertisement is the backbone of the industry as without advertisement customer reach would have been a cumbersome job. However, I completely agree that advertising encourages us to buy things that are not required in our lives. firstly, In my opinion due to absence of any strict law against false advertisements, most of the companies are misleading customers with incomplete or false information resulting them to buy products which are not actually needed. To illustrate this, we can take an example of skin lightening creams which are available abundantly in market. These creams claims to provide fair skin tones. However, none of these creams can change the skin tone still, they have huge customer base which gets deluded by their false claims delivered by popular influencers and Bollywood actors. Hence, this proves that false advertising can lead to create customer base for useless products. Secondly, Misrepresentation of facts about the product in the advertisement which results in huge customer base. Companies often advertises their product in a way which will be most luring for the customers. This can be proved with an example for the advertisements used for healthy food segments available in the market. Most of these healthy options have very minimal healthy ingredients in it. As most of us buys these products just on the basis of the advertisements we tend to forgot to read the full ingredients list and hence gets deluded. Therefore, clearly products can be sold in market without serving any actual purpose especially with strategic advertisement. To sum up, Advertisement is a very powerful tool for companies to create sales for their products which are not required or useful. Hence, there should be strict laws to prevent customers from getting deceived from false advertising. On the other hand, it is also a responsibility of a product company to provide complete and correct information for their products which will allow customer to make informed decision.