Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising is an art of showcasing a product to its future consumers. We can divide all advertising products or services into useless or useful. Freedom of choice is one of the key principles of a democratic society. I agree with the view point that adverts create artificial wants. If I am seeing a product first time in the market I won't try it. Because am not familiar with that product. When l seeing a product advertisement again and again it's giving me an impression bout that product. Next time am seeing that in a shop, I will think about all positive sides of that product given by advertisement. Advertisements always giving the image of success and glamour. They are hiding the negative sides. Adverts also have some positive sides. It helps people save money by informing them about real bargains. Catalogues and brochures enable people to compare products and services. We can find about offers and prices easily. Each customer is different. Same product will not convince all buyers. For example parents are aware about health issues of some chocolate and food products. But by the influence of children's they are forced to buy it. Finally, I would conclude that a lot of adverts create artificial wants.