Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some people argue that advertisements force them to buy unnecessary things. While others find it to improve knowledge about new products. In this essay, I will discuss both point of views and give my opinion. Let’s start with positives of advertisements. Firstly, It gives ideas and specifications of new products. For example, smart phone advertisement gives us idea about new features available in latest smart phones so, we can compare features between different smart phones. Secondly, we can compare prices of the same product provided by different companies. For Example, fragrance spray is provided by different companies like Axe, Mankind and Old Dutch. So, we can compare prices and save some money. Furthermore, advertisement is helpful to solve day to day problems. Without good advertisement, we would never know about ‘Fevicol’ which can fix any broken items. Due to advertisements, we get to know how to use this product. There are many such products available in the market which is very helpful in our daily life. Without advertisement, we would never have been made aware of such products. On the other hand, some time due to attractive advertisement, we buy things which are not useful in day-to-day life. When advertisements give large discounts on certain products, it attracts people to buy unnecessary things. When/upon seeing/Ads displaying/ we see large discount on toys, gadgets and decoration products, we buy it only to later find it as non-useful products in our house. If individuals take care of their budget and only buy necessary things, then advertisement is helpful to save money and give knowledge of new products. So, Pros overweight the cons.