Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. discuss both views and give your opinion

Due to the importance of primary education in the children’s nourishment and development, there has been much controversy over the importance of various subjects. While some people opine that history is a subject of the chief value, others dispute this and claim that other subjects such as science and technology are of more value in this modern era. In this essay I will discuss both side of the argument and explain why I believe more practical subjects are more valuable in comparison with history, although the latter still is needed to be taught in the school. History is one of the most important subjects in the eyes of people who may believe that by acquiring knowledge from the past events, one can lead a life with higher quality levels. The reason for this is that the aggregated information from other’s experience may help one to cope with hardships and challenges commonly occurred in every day life. With a glance at the past, it is obvious that failure is not an end, but rather a fresh start if bring looked properly. Having learned about other’s mistakes and impulsive decisions, the person will not choose the same way when being in the similar situation. On the other hand, history is tightly bound to the culture of a nation and give the citizens a sense of identity. This not only gives people a sense of self-satisfaction but also boost the unity of the society, both of which will make the whole country a better place to live with happier citizens. However, I would argue that more importance should be attached to the subject like history and technology as they are more practical in today’s lives. Looking at the different parts of people’s day-to-day life, one can realize that technology and high-tech devices has been integrated into almost all of our activities ranging from a simple conversation with a friend to cooking in the kitchen; therefore, this know-how is essential for feeling a sense of comfort. For example, today a huge part of the education is based on the searching databases which require both of the internet and devises like laptops or tablets. Examples of this kind are many. On the other hand, it has been shown by various academic studies that among young people, the one with a better command of scientific and technological knowledge is in a preponderant position when it comes to competition in the job market. In other words, entrepreneurs are more attracted to recruit people who are equipped with a more practical knowledge, like science rather than history. In conclusion, although the knowledge we acquire from history can significantly improve the quality of our every day lives, the more practical subjects are of more value as they are one of the primary requirements of today’s life and are needed for a person to be recruited. I believe the latter subject are of more value, although there is still the need for history to be considered as a compulsory course in schools.