Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. v2

Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience. There are numerous people who believe that science and technology are the keys to solve all present problems across society, thus they should be more emphasized in the school curriculum as opposed to history. However, in my opinion, history should be highlighted as the most essential subject in schools. While it’s true that science and technology have significantly impacted our lives in positive ways, such as the communication technology which helps maintain a long-distance relationship for couples, or the space exploration technology that enables us to find more about mysterious space, it must not be forgotten that these beneficial technologies have also caused unexpected negative outcomes, for instance, the inventions of nuclear and chemical weapons. On this account, history teaches us how to make improvements from the mistakes we made in the past and inform us of the consequences of those mistakes. History, therefore, carries the potential to make science and technology more ethical and democratic. Also, the lessons from positive and negative incidents that occurred in the past remind us of what we have achieved today. For example, civil rights are the outcome of tumultuous struggles between underserved groups and the elite who tried to hold onto their privilege and power. By studying such crucial events, we can appreciate what we have now and gain a better understanding of our abilities to exercise our rights. In sum, science and technology are not disciplines that exist independent of society but very much embedded in it. As such, science and technology can gain a deeper understanding of their practices and assumptions by taking into account the historical factors that have shaped them through time. As I have discussed above, history promises to bring a greater level of appreciation for the achievements of humanity. While science and technology have developed wide-spanning benefits for humanity, history can afford them with a deeper and more critical frame of understanding.