Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Architectural design has been developed in many ways. Those are numerous styles, such as modern architecture, rustic, new-age, even conservative. Some people argue that the government ought to supervise the design of buildings in big cities. However, others believe that architectural style depends on the investors. This essay will discuss and scrutinize both point of views. In one hand, the government needs to assure that the design of the new building is in line with city planning development, such as smart city, green city, etc. This city planning is crucial for attracting tourism which finally makes a profit for the city. For instance, Jakarta local government conserves the heritage area in south Jakarta and regulates the citizen to build the old-fashioned style even for the new buildings. As a result, more than 300 million income per years comes from the tourism industry in this region. On the other hand, democracy for city development is also crucial. Democracy reflects the citizen's expression and creativity which lead to a positive competition for developing their own city, such as architects from various background might design their building based on their taste. Furthermore, freedom in architectural design might attract more investments because they will be able to develop their building for a specific commercial purpose. For example, a high-tech company which trades electronic appliances prefer to represent their building as a smart elegant rather than rustic. Finally, high investment and development will boost the city economy as well. All in all, both of the views are beneficial for city development as the government control might attract tourism, while freedom of expression might increase investment. However, in my opinion, the upsides of free design outweigh the government's control due to the fact that the boosting economy is more sustainable and long-lasting than only making a profit in a short term.