Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this industrialized world, there is a rapid growth in the amount of spaces needed and increasingly more buildings were built in the last few decades. Some people think that governments should be authorized to oversee the designs of new buildings in the cities. However, others argue that governments intervention is unnecessary and those who pay for the construction costs should rightfully control their building designs. In this essay, I will explain why I think the cooperative design strategies involving both governments and public sectors should be deployed. The building designs should be partially controlled by the governments in order to protect our cultural identities. While it is true that several modern infrastructures were built in the big cities, an absence of regulatory practices could destroyed the cities' characteristics. For example, in Thailand, temples are the best representatives of our traditions and the sophisticated designed roofs reflect the cultural evolutions. However, many historical temples along the river are now hidden by a modern, high-rise condominiums and thus, we no longer have an intimate glimpse of our old temples when walking along the streets. For this reason, government interventions are necessary. On the other hand, the idea that people who financially support the constructions should have the rights to oversee the building designs is also understandable because people pay to get what they desire. Metropolitan area has the largest number of contemporary buildings which were privately funded, however, several conflicts arise. Each private sector usually constructs the buildings at the cost of others thus, it is not uncommon that loads amount of lawsuits were filed between the private sectors. According to this situation, it is a good idea for the designs to be partly controlled by the governments. In conclusion, many feel that governments control is necessary for the design of new buildings while others said that people who pay for the buildings must be able to freely exercise their rights. In my opinion, the private sectors should be able to design their building under certain restrictions from the governments.