Some people feel that advertising has negative effects on our society, because it encourages people to buy more unneeded items, while others feel that it is beneficial for our economy.

Advertising is gaining popularity in recent years. While some correlate it with a demerit impact on our society due to the alteration of an individual's purchasing habit, others believe that it plays an important role in developing our economy. Both their viewpoints will be critically evaluated before a final conclusion is drawn. To begin with, Advertisements usually exaggerate products’ effectiveness, and therefore most ads tend to have a strong influence on the purchasing decisions of customers. Companies often include the hottest, irresistible deals and promotions in their ads, as can be seen in many electronic device advertisements. As a matter of fact, marketing campaigns would result in consumers buying more stuff than what they actually need. And if not consistent, children and young people in particular are likely to be stuck in the purchasing habit beyond their financial capability. Having said that, by encouraging more buying, advertising tends to promote both job growth and productivity growth to meet the increased demands. To be more specific, advertising is considered as a tool to enhance the economy by bringing the right products and services to the consumers, boosty the competition. Moreover, with the large-scale expansion of advertising in almost every kind of mass media, this sector also contributes to generate a diversity of employment opportunities, including journalists, content producers, designers, and other online businesses. According to Harvard University' researchers, this accounts for 10% of the total created job. In conclusion, advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life. No doubt advertising still has some drawbacks on society, but the function it performs in maintaining a stable economy is irreplaceable.