Some people consider price as the most important thing to think about when buying a product (such as cell phone) or service (e. g medical treatment).

It is always advisable to be a prudent spender. Buying something at a lower price satisfies us seemingly in getting the best deal. Some people say that the price of a product such as a cell phone or service such as medical treatment is the most important thing to consider while shopping. However, I do not agree with this viewpoint. One of the major risks of purchasing a product or service at a cheaper price is the compromise on its quality. In general, most of the expensive commodities and services are of high quality while low priced products often fail to meet the standards. For example, clothes, accessories, and shoes from well-known brands such as Nike and Reebok seem to be costlier but they are much more durable. Smartphones from brands such as iPhone or Samsung may be too pricey; however, the user is very less likely to experience any technical snag or dissatisfaction. Secondly, by opting for a cheap deal, one may miss out an opportunity to feel and know the benefits of high-quality products or services. A consumer may just spend more time in adjusting to the economical service. For instance, patients suffering from a persistent medical illness such as Asthma or Abdominal pains may never get proper treatment if they hesitate to visit private hospitals. Lastly, I feel that the reluctance to spend money on important requirements may cost more in the long run. For example, someone who hesitates to spend / shell out extra money for standard health check-up regularly may not realize the latent degradation of important body organs. If the condition exacerbates in case of a heart or kidney failure, one has to spend a fortune to get good treatment. The same can be the case with discounted mobile phones. One may end up paying extra for repairing the touch screen or battery after some time. In conclusion, there is no harm in being cost conscious. However, if we compromise on quality by buying cheap products or services we may end up spending more in the long term. Hence, it is important to consider quality as well as price while making a purchase.