Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

Waste is one of the most substantial sections of human beings in the temporary world. Some people think that there is not enough household waste to be recycled, and the main responsibility is for governments to introduce laws on recycling. While I think, to a certain, extent governments should enforce recycling laws on households, I also believe that education about recycling is more important. First of all, it is widely accepted that creating laws to deal with environmental issues is the best way forward. If laws about recycling were passed, it would force people to think carefully before throwing things out with the garbage. Also, heavy fines should be levied onto people who try to break the laws. If everyone knew about the fines of not recycling things, they would make sure that all recyclables are put in correct bins. For example, Singapore has introduced laws asking people to recycle their household waste, including extremely heavy fines. The laws has brought an unpredictable result with 60% of waste has been reduced every year. Clearly, this enforecement of laws would definitely increase recycling. Secondly, education is seen as a long-term solution to increase recycling. Environmental and waste problems should be brought into classes, so that students can gain more knowledge about this issue. In addition, authorities should produce some TV shows or run campaigns to show people how to recycle waste. Take Singapore as an example. Thanks to an effective combination between law and education, recycling has become a daily activity of every citizen, which is voluntarily done without any complaints. On the other hand, there are some people argue that the enforcement of laws may cause people to resent them and react by sticking even more firmly with their ways of disposing of waste. However, most individuals seem to do nothing unless they are required to. Therefore, if governments hope to make recycling household waste a common task throughout the country, they need to put laws into force. To sum up, both laws and education are necessary to encourage householders to recycling. While laws are enforcement, education can turn them into a public willingness. Personally, i believe that there would be more and more household waste recycled if governments can efficiently harness both laws and education.