Some people claim that family members are more important than friends. Do you agree or disagree?

There are so many persons in our life and we have different relations with different people. While some people regard friends to be highly crucial, I would argue that family members play a more significant role in our life. Family is the biggest strength of any person. Firstly, family members especially parents are more involved in individuals’ upbringing. From one’s primary school to tertiary education, parents set a role model, spend time to accompany them and educate them to be a useful member of the society. In addition, our parents and grandparents love and nurture us since the day we were born. It is them who provide us with various forms of life necessities including shelter, clothes and food. Without their support we are less likely to survive let alone receive education, the cost of which is also covered by them; however, we cannot receive such kinds of help from our friends. Admittedly, after attending schools, we all tend to socialize with our friends / peers who are more understanding than family members because usually they are of the same age as us. A person can share personal problems with friends and get sound advice from them, whereas the suggestions of their family members are not acceptable to them, due to the fact that their adult parents cannot stand in their shoes. Nevertheless, this benefit is not significant enough, compared to the aid that their families offer to them. In conclusion, it is true that friends play a significant role in our life. However, family members are more important, care for growth, give without expecting anything from us and help us overcome life difficulties.