Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state

As per my view, using animals to test the safety of human medicines is not at all cruel and unwarranted. In order to carry out medical experiments or tests, we need to perform the test on the animals first rather than to perform the tests straightaway on humans. Before carrying out the tests on animals, we need to make sure that proper measures are being taken. It shouldn't be like you carry out certain tests on animals and later on they have to lose their life as the experiment failed. Normally, scientists carry out the tests on the animals to check how they respond once they are tested with the medicines. As per my opinion, this is the only option scientists have. If experiments are carried out directly on humans and if the experiment fails, they can easily lose their life. It can even lead to certain side-effects. No doubt animals too have their own life, but later on if the experiment fails, we can save their life. It has happened in the past that certain medicines have responded well on the animals but they haven't responded well on the humans. Even certain Covid-19 vaccines responded well on the animals but they were not as successful on the humans. Hence, I believe that it is not at all cruel to carry out the tests of human medicines on the animals.