Some people believe that there should be fixed punsihments for each type of Crime. Others argue that circumstances and motivation should be taken into account when deciding the punishment.

The criteria to decide the punishment of a crime has been debatable for quiet sometime. It is considered by many people that there should be just one punishment for any type of crime, while others believe that it should depend on the nature and reason of the crime. This essay will discuss both the opinions and provide evidence as to why it is important to consider the circumstances related to the crime as an important factor in determining the punishment. Having a fixed punishment for any type of crime can have some positive sides. As everyone would be aware of the consequences of indulging into any type of crime, people will refrain from doing anything wrong. This will result in the crime rate to decline. It will be straightforward for the law practitioners to judge the cases and thus will shrink the backlog of cases that have been pending for years. This can provide fast justice but not fair justice. For instance, a person committing murder and a person involved in burglary receiving the same jail term is unfair. Many factors, such as motive and situation, should be taken into account while deciding what type of punishment would be precise. A person might commit a crime unknowingly in response to abuse or self-defense. There are times when people do not clearly understand the fine line between a violation and crime and accidentally step over that line. To conclude, the law has been established to issue justice and by defining the consequences of a felony without investigating it’s nature would be unfair. Thus, it is very important that all the scenarios are looked into before delivering any punishment for a crime.