Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is argued by some people that punishments should be fixed for all times of crimes. Other people believe that situation of crimes and reasons behind undergoing such activities should be considered before giving punishment. In my opinion, all criminals should be punished as no reason can justify a crime. People who believe in fixed punishments argue that individuals committing a crime should very well be aware of the consequences of their crime. No amount of explanation can justify a crime. In other words, if people are forgiven by law, by considering their reasons and logics, the incidence of these unlawful acts is likely to increase. It will become a trend amongst the people to commit an illegal act and later on justifying it with logics. The only way to curb this tendency would be to give fixed punishments whatever the reason the accused may give. On the other hand, some people believe that while giving verdicts or punishments for an unlawful act, the background and motive of the individual should be taken into account. According to them everyone is not a criminal and strict punishment by law will force these people to retaliate against the state. The organised gangs are in fact looking for such anti state agents who have sentiments against the and use them for their purposes. For instance, if a person steals food because he was starving do not deserve to be penalised the same way as a person who robs a bank. Hence, the judiciary and law needs to strike a balance while giving a verdict. In conclusion, a country or even a company is managed on the basis of reward and punishment. Reward for positive actions and punishment for unlawful activities. So whatever the circumstances behind the crime, people mend their ways only if scared of punishment otherwise it will be very difficult to manage.