Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Crime rate is proliferated across the world. Many individuals opine that Rigid-penalties for any sort of atrocity is necessary. Although there is a Scope for misusing the laws with this Idea, misdeed rate can be controlled and Aid to crime free society. There is plethora of benefits by having fixed punishments. First and foremost, the outcome will be the decrease in misconduct rate. People tend to panic with the implementation of rigid laws that made them to think twice before committing a misconduct. However, we should not forget the role of public awareness programmes, which educate the people about the charges and offence in a more efficient way that, eventually build crime free society. For instance, countries such as India, Pakistan are more prone to gruesome rapes. These countries have restructured their laws in a way to eradicate molestations has worked out tremendously and brought a drastic change in the crime rate. However, there are other challenges associated with fixed punishments. People can misuse the law by utilising the loop holes. People will be more prone to the misinterpretation of Penalised actions. For instance, Indian jurisdiction has introduced a new legislation to eradicate domestic violence on women has been called off within no time due to the fact that women are more prone to blackmail their spouses in the name of adverse effects with that law. In conclusion, Implementation of laws has been always a debatable topic. Some people often believe that Strict and fixed Punishments are imperative. Although that is prone to the misusage of law, could be helpful in declining the crime rate and lead to a crime free society.