Nowadays many students have the opportunity to study for part or all of their courses in foreign countries. While studying abroad brings many benefits to individual students, it also has a number of disadvantages.

The impact of globalization and the invention of the internet broke down a lot of orthodox ways for learning as it has opened new opportunities for students to learn in a variety of ways such as virtual classes, studying abroad, and exchange programs. Studying abroad is increasingly becoming more popular for students particularly for those with resources. Of course, this comes with its own benefits and disadvantages and in my opinion, the benefits far outweigh its disadvantages as I will point out below. The opportunity of studying in a foreign country helps expose students to new ways of learning. For instance, Koreans would memorize the multiplication table following a specific rhythm or through a song. This may come as a surprise but it can be a very effective way of learning. Also, studying abroad helps students to become more independent. The independence gained from living alone can help improve important skills such as decision-making, problem-solving and financial independence. Finally, it allows you to experience different cultures which are not only limited to the host country you are studying in but also with the different nationalities you would meet. This can help you gain a better perspective of the wider world. Of course, studying abroad can sometimes have its disadvantages. For example, language can is a barrier that would make it hard for you to adjust. Also, living alone can be quite daunting especially with the dangers and uncertainty surrounding it. Still, we can point out that the rewards trump its disadvantages. And if you have the courage to overcome the obstacles that may be thrown your way then I can say the disadvantages would not be a problem.