Some people believe that technology has made maan more sociable.

Technology has been revolutionizing the world, be it a wheel in the past or internet in this millennia. It is argued that man has become more social than before by using technology, I disagree. This essay will outline how computers and applications have restricted the movement of persons and also effect of using them for extended duration along with relevant examples. The need for an individual to move out and mingle with others has reduced drastically. The social clubs are replaced by virtual groups on networking sites and usual chit-chat with multiple messenger apps. With entertainment available at their fingertips, people refuse to go back to traditional ways such as playing in a ground resulting in closure of playgrounds and parks. It is more of a system to human interaction than a physical one. To illustrate this, an oxford university survey found that 70% of businesses would prefer an interview of a candidate over skype of VOIP instead of having them drop by. Therefore it is conclusively clear that being able to talk with others by their phones or on social media, people refuse to come out and meet other physically unless in an unavoidable situation and it is extended to the organizations as well. Secondly, modern day provides more options consequently effecting one’s choices and preferences to spend their time. The kids growing up spend more amount of screen time thus hampering their social skills. For instance, it has been observed that restricting the usage of mobiles and ipads at a summer camp enabled the pupils to interact more with their fellow mates. Thus it is possible to state that use of devices reduces the interactive skills in children. To conclude, despite its use to improve the communication by erasing the distances, I have a opinion that technology impairs the social skills of a human by making their life comfortable, easier and also gluing them to devices and negating any sort of interaction with the outside world