Some people believe that schools should not assess a student’s ability through exams but instead assess them by their course work and project work over the whole academic year. Do you agree?

Skills and talent can be some of the most major factors of achieving success in career. In fact, I agree with those who believe that pupils’ capabilities should be judged on their performance throughout the annual period of their academic session rather than exams. This essay will first analyze how slow handwriting results in low scores, followed by a discussion on how some candidates cheat in exams to get good scores before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. Firstly, many students have a good knowledge of their subjects and can do extremely well in their assignments and course related projects but they may have slow writing speed which causes them to complete their exams, and cannot deliver exactly what is in their minds. This results in their low scores despite having a good command on their subjects. Take Mr. Malik Riaz for example, who is one of the most successful businessmen of Pakistan, never got good marks in exams in his student life, but he had enough knowledge about his subjects which helped him to become successful career wise. As this example shows, exams are not always a positive thing to judge student’s skills. Secondly, some students cheat in exams to get good marks but they do not have enough knowledge about their field of study, which means that they are only studying to pass their exams but not to gain any knowledge or skills. Such students when enter into professional life struggle a lot to make themselves stable professionally. For instance, research suggests that those who cheat in exams tend to be less successful in their professional career as compared to those who have enough knowledge of their subjects. Thus, the merits of the opinion regarding the judgement of candidates through their exams are hard to support. In conclusion, students can use inappropriate ways to pass their exams and some scores less in exams due to slow writing speed despite having a good knowledge of their field. I believe, ultimately, judging students’ skills through their exams can be seen as a negative thing.