Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices To what extent do you agree Spoken communication is always more powerful than written communication

In recent times, it has often been debated, which means of communication is more effective between the spoken and written forms. Many are of the opinion that the former is more effective because it is less ambiguous and reaches a wider audience. I strongly agree with this opinion and will expatiate. Firstly, the message conveyed via spoken words is easily understood. All that is required to comprehend the idea being passed by speaking is the possession of a good sense of audition. Also, verbal and non-verbal cues from the speaker enhances better comprehension by the listener. This is an exclusive attribute of oral communication which makes it superior to written communication. Secondly, asides the conventional day-to-day speaking, another method of transmitting message orally is music, and this provides an avenue to reach a large expanse of audience. The lettered and unlettered, who would have otherwise found it tasking to read a written message, are able to relate with music. In addition to this, speech is often devoid of the ambiguity enmeshed in writing. For example, the word 'read' can be pronounced in two ways, depending on whether the past or present tense is intended. It therefore means that, the unschooled have lesser ability to understand a written message. In conclusion, although views are diverse as regards which is a better means of communication between speaking and writing, I am of the viewpoint that the oral way of communication is stronger because it is clearer and relatable to every member of the society.