Some people believe that it is the responsibility of parents to teach the right values to their children, while others think that the main duty of parents is to provide children with a safe environment to grow up in.

Some people believe that it is the responsibility of parents to teach the right values to their children, while others think that the main duty of parents is to provide children with a safe environment to grow up in. While teaching children the right values can teach them good behaviour, I believe that parenting children in a safe environment will help children to avoid negative behaviour. One the one hand, if children are taught the right discipline and values they tend to learn social behaviour. This is to say that children do not possess adequate knowledge about right and wrong behaviour and when kids are taught from a young age, they are more likely to behave well in their teenage. For example, a recent survey conducted by the American Bullying Association revealed that the kids who were taught moral values at home did not bully other kids in school. However, I believe that children’s age should also be taken into consideration while teaching them good behaviour. On the other hand, parenting and providing children a safe environment at home can avoid children from developing negative behaviour. In other words, when parents do not provide them a friendly environment they are more likely to develop anxiety and depression and this will cause them to develop aggressive and violent behaviour later on in life. For instance, a research study by The Guardian showed that 23% of the children in America developed some kind of violent and aggressive behaviour as they were brought up by divorced parents. I, therefore, believe that it is very important that children should have a good environment and proper parenting in their childhood. To conclude, although teaching discipline and right values can teach them social behaviour, I believe affectionate parenting and a friendly environment are more important as it will help children to avoid negative behaviour in life.