Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible.

Undoubtedly, every nation globally has had the objective of being financially strong and the efforts of achieving so are burgeoning ubiquitously. While having high economic status is imperative, it is also essential for a country to have a clean environment. Some people opine that achieving both is impossible; however, others believe that both can be achieved parallelly. I shall elucidate both opinions in further paragraphs before providing my viewpoint. To begin with, the economic growth of any country is characterized by industrialization and urbanization. Some individuals believe that infrastructure in cities can only be developed by deforestation. Wood and land required for building factories and houses come only when there is destruction done to natural resources. Moreover, owing to industrialization, detritus discharged in water bodies and harmful effluents released are detrimental to the environment. For example, as per a survey conducted by a leading organization in the UK, industries have done much damage in the last two decades as ever done in centuries, which corroborates the proportionality between financial expense and inimical impact on nature. On the other hand, it is also true that when a country has strong financial status, there is more provision of implementing trailblazing technology to protect the environment. The government can invest in innovative technology, which could palliate pollution. As there are advanced filters already invented by engineers that could impede pernicious fumes from being released in the air by factories. Hence, if nations have capital, they could achieve the goal of pioneering and protecting the environment simultaneously. In my opinion, it is imperative for a country to be economically well-off. However, Environmental Protection cannot be compromised. Nations ought to invest in appropriate technology like electronic vehicles, air filtration in factories, and waste treatment machines. Consequently, it is possible to achieve sustainable development. The government should be prudent, lest they should jeopardize the environment in the race of becoming affluent.