Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

According to some people, one should accept unfavourable situations without complaining. Others insist that it is always better to try to improve a negative situation. In my opinion, we do have to accept certain adversities; however, most of the time, it is possible to turn a bad situation around. On the one hand, some people believe that bad situations cannot be changed and hence they should be accepted. Of course, it is not within our power to change some situations. For example, an unexpected job loss or medical emergency can put a person in financial difficulty. Sometimes, there is nothing that a person can do to improve the situation. For example, if a person becomes handicapped in an accident, it will affect their ability to work and earn a livelihood. In such situations, maybe it is necessary to accept the bad situation without cursing one’s fate. On the other hand, in my opinion, it is never a bad idea to try to improve a situation. For example, if a person loses their job, they do not have to live in poverty for the rest of their life. In most cases, they only have to learn a new skill to find a better job. Likewise, people who have a bad boss do not have to suffer in silence. If they are bold enough, they can take it as a challenge and find another job elsewhere. In most cases, fear is what forces people to be content with their circumstances. If they are willing to take calculated risks, most negative situations can be improved. To conclude, certain sections of the society accept bad situations without trying to improve them. However, in my opinion, with a little effort, it is possible to improve any bad situation.