Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

It is thought that studying at university is everyone’s right, and tuition fees should be paid by the government. The former view is reasonable, however I disagree that the government should take responsibility for students’ university education fee. On the one hand, I avocado with students should be allowed to pursue tertiary education. On the individual level, all students are equal in intelligence and scholastic capability despite difference in financial status. Therefore, they have an equal opportunity to attend university education. On the society level, bachelor’s degree holders are a more educated workforce, as they are accessed to advanced knowledge in their major from the university. After graduation, they would come back their hometown, use what they studied to better hometown’s economic and social development. On the other hand, I assume that provision of free-of-charge education for all students is not necessary. Firstly, the enormous costs for higher education will put a strain on government budget, which leads to budget deficits, tax hikes or reduced welfare among others. Secondly, education quality would also suffer from abolition tuition fees. If tuition waiver, everyone goes to university, triggering the increased number of students which prevents teachers from giving out thorough care for everyone and exerts significant impacts on how each student interacts with teachers and their peers. As a result, their performances at university are poor and less efficient. In conclusion, while I agree that it is everyone’s right to access university, I also believe that the government should not make tuition fees free for everyone.