Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society

Social networking sites like Facebook, twitter have helped to promote globalization from communication standpoint. It is very easy to connect to people all around the world and helps to know various opinions on crucial topics. However there is a debate whether the negative aspects of such platforms outweigh the positives. I do not agree to this school of thought and will highlight why social networking is crucial and helpful in today's world for knowledge sharing and establishing a connect between people. While we have all kinds of print media and electronic media at our disposal for latest issues and news, youth today is more inclined towards accessing information on networking sites. Social media is a powerful tool to share different ideas and thoughts across the world and we have seen in the recent times how awareness about climate change, global warming is being raised via this medium. The more people get to know about, more steps governments across the world will have to work towards implemented policies around such issues. Hence social platforms can be very influential tools if used in a positive way. Nowadays people have utilized these platforms to establish connect with long lost friends and family members. People work in different parts of the world and it’s not always easy to go meet and socialize, these sites have helped bridge that gap. Along with socializing these platforms can be utilized if someone is looking to work or relocate overseas, there are various groups to guide with the steps and set of instructions and even prepare for various exams like IELTS, TOFEL etc. Although there are some negative aspects like addiction and promoting ideas which can be harmful to the society, yet if used appropriately these sites or platforms can be influential tools to socialize and discuss and raise awareness on relevant topics.