Some people believe that charities should help people in need no matter where those people are in the world. Others feel that these organizations should only serve the people living in the country where they are based.

Nowadays, there are many organizations which help people to survive in their daily life. A number of people opine that voluntary organizations should support those people who are living in poverty from all around the world while others believe that they should give priority to their own people living in that country. In this essay, I am going to examine the question from both points of view and explain why I feel charitable trust should give priority to their own country’s people. Firstly, several people argue that charities should provide donations globally because as human beings and living on the same planet, it is our responsibility to help each other in an emergency situation so that they can survive. For instance, suffering from a dreadful disease, Ebola in 2014, Africa assisted by UNICEF, and eventually, within less than 6 months, it got rid of. Had charitable trust not helped countries like Africa in such a grueling time, it would not have been able to curb this disease. Conversely, others feel that organizations should give priority to their country’s people because the citizen pay a big amount of taxes and it is their right to take care of those people who are living in poverty or in crisis conditions. In addition, helping them reduce the crime rate as well as decrease the percentage of illiteracy. For example, a renowned trust named “Biddanondo Foundation” in Bangladesh donates daily needs and gives free education to the street children so that they don’t enter the crime world. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I think charities should give the first priority to their own people rather than another part of the world. There is a proverb which I admire the most is “Charity begins at home”.