Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Nowadays, people think that letting children do decision making in their everyday life would turn into a environment were a person would focus on themselves. While others sees it in a different light. Their are certain parents that do not allow children make their own decisions. They think that children would turn selfish ones they are given the authority. Reasons could be that children can grow up being self reliant were others opinion would not matter anymore. Another, would be on how their perspective in people could change. Since they are independent people they would think that those who seek for assistance or guidance are weak people. Lastly, parents would have difficulties understanding their child's preference or attitude which can result to misunderstandings. Though, their are parents who believes in giving children freedom in decision making. They think that by doing theses, it will allow children to learn and adapt to the world without being validated by others. They would develop skills that are seldom taught in schools and be able to use in their everyday living. I believe that allowing children to make decisions are relevant and important, since these will help them achieve goals to be better. Being independent is also a good thing as these will further help a child in the future.