In many companies today, applicants are often rejected due to old age. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, age criteria play an undeniable role in the selection of a job applicant. A section of the society thinks that companies reject qualified job seekers if they cross the age limitation. In my opinion, it is a positive trend as it has many brighter aspects than darker. The critical challenge faced by majority of the companies is unemployment as lakhs of students graduate every year and become jobless due to high competition in the job market. Even though an age over candidate is qualified and efficient for a job, it is essential to ensure employment for the youth as they are the future asset of the country and therefore age restriction should be made a necessary requirement. Old aged people may be physically unhealthy and unfit when compared to youth who are energetic and spirited which is a required quality of an employee. For example, if an old candidate does a door to door marketing job, he may get tired easily and will be a less productive employee. Age restriction in the job selection has created a small dip in the unemployment rate. Many younger candidates, who were mentally depressed, can now start a fresh career and a living as they are provided with a job and will be a better citizen of the country. Ensuring jobs for candidates within the age limit will be a future investment for companies as they can acquire a long term worker instead of an old worker who may stop working within a few years. For example, an old man may discontinue his job within a short period due to his health conditions. To conclude, I think it is a positive development as it helps nation to deal with unemployment issues.