Some people believe that a person's intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that environment is the main factor

While a number of persons think that intelligence is passed on from parents, other people also say the major factor is the environment. This essay will discuss both views and state the most probable factor responsible for intelligence. On one hand, intelligence is passed on from parents. To expatiate, parents pass on their thinking abilities down to their children. According to Karl Marx the psychologist, a child has a 75% chance of becoming wise if one of the parents is wise and 70% chance of becoming a mongo if one parent is such such. A research conducted by Aborigines in 2010 about intelligence showed that about 93% of children whose parents were wise were naturally wise as well. On the other hand, it is argued that intellectual ability is influenced by the environment. When a child is born into a society of well-thinking beings, the child has an 80% probability of becoming a noble-thinker despite parents not being up to the ratings. This is so because the child does not amd will not only associate with parents but the community as a whole and hence, he will be influenced. Also, there are several contributing factors that influence the notion “intelligence” such as genetics and environmental Even though genes do play important roles in children's birth and many traits are passed on to these children through birth, I vehemently believe that the environmental factor is most influencing. A child may be born with a low-thinking capacity but can be shaped by the community and other external influences in the community such as teachers can bridge the gap between lowered-thinking ability and high-thinking ability. For instance, a survey conducted in New York in 2000 by Dickson revealed that more than 70% of the children who were born with low-thinking abilities were able to think very well after being handed to teachers to train them. In conclusion, the argument about intelligence being passed on to children from parents with intelligence being influenced by the environment are both valid but in all, I believe that the environmental factors has a lot of influence on a person's intelligence.