Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Give your opinion

As culture is formed by the people, language, and society that are specific to the environment, it has a very unique impact on how individual forms one’s cultural identity and sense of cultural awareness. Some argue that an individual’s cultural identity can be heavily influenced by the culture of the country that one’s born and grew up in. Whereas others state that an individual’s cultural identity is rigid regardless of the surroundings, and people are not prone to assimilate to the culture of the country they grew up in. To me, I honestly believe that the two views are both right. An individual’s culture can be defined by one’s country of origin because we are very susceptible to the environment we live in. The Culture one is born and grew up in informs one’s cultural identity. A study shows that once an individual acquires a sense of cultural identity, it becomes a rigid part of their identity, and stays the same throughout their life course. Therefore, it is feasible to believe that an individual’s culture is defined by the country of their origin, as it is an established sense of self in the cultural context they are in. On the other hand, some argue that the culture from the person’s country of origin plays a trivial role when it comes to forming one’s cultural identity. A study shows an interesting idea of what happens when an individual in one cultural context migrates to another cultural context. When people change their cultural context, they tend to assimilate to the new culture and modify their cultural identity to adjust to the new environment. The benefit of cultural modification is that we can minimize the psychological stress we might experience in the new environment due to cultural differences. Therefore, the culture of an individual’s origin has a minimum impact on an individual, because acculturation can easily happen when one moves from the original cultural context to the new one, indicating that culture of the origin does not have a significant impact on a person’s cultural identity, and is easily replaceable. In short, both views stated above give me an insight into how culture impacts an individual’s identity. I personally believe that a person’s culture can be defined by one’s country of origin, but is amiable to change when one’s in a different cultural context for a long period of time. As I move around the world, I sense my cultural identity is always updated whenever I experience a new culture.