Some people believe social media is very important in our daily life, other believe it is waste of time.

Social networking sites such as Facebook, Instagram or Twitter have evolved so that they become an indispensable part of our lives. They are considered by some to be beneficial for us; others assume the contrary. This essay will discuss both points of view before my closing verdict. On the one hand, social media is a major source of entertainment for all people of all age category. Some applications, YouTube, for example, provide us with the content specific to our interests and the opportunity to group up society into the communities according to their outlooks on life. Moreover, social networking sites can be very useful in terms of education and work. For instance, the Microsoft Teams program allows schools and colleges to educate the students remotely retaining high quality. The same can be applied to the companies. Therefore, positive feedback on the online medium is quite reasonable. On the other hand, unlike in most public places, people can exploit the freedom they are given in social media. In other words, if someone behaves in an unacceptable manner, there is no one who would punish him. For instance, as racism is one of the hottest issues today, many online users tease each other addressing their races knowing they can not be retributed. Also, these issues might inculcate the wrong overview of life for very young people. Unfortunately, these trends make the sceptics of social media be more adamant about their standpoint. To sum up, although social networking sites have some positive impact on our lives, they are also detrimental to a certain extent.