Beating of children is an effective form of discipline,

Children are disciplined through beatings in many countries. Not only is this form of disciplne widely used, it's also seen to be the most effective form by some people. This essay will argue why it's completely wrong to raise kids with violence. Beating of children is within the history of every household. Fear is seen by many parents as a solid form of obedience in children. Many parents have been raised through fear and feel it's best to raise their own in the same manner. In Africa, 90% of children are whipped in schools. The wide use of corpral punishment and it's long history, both do not justify the psychological implications it may have. The idea of beating your own children to gain their respect is Ludacris. The impact of physical abuse can be detrimental to the child's own self esteem. Furthermore, the child may project the violence onto peers. If a child fears his parents, "he is more likely to disobey them in private" is what recent studies have shown. Speaking to and understanding children I believe is key in the disciplining of children. This essay argued why beating children should be a thing of the past and is totally unacceptable. In my opinion, creating an atmosphere of understanding and sincere communication is essential. Once this is achieved, non violent vorms of discipline become very effective.