Some people aim to achieve balance between their work and other part of lives, but few achieve it. What is the reason behind this? What are the solutions to tackle this problem?

Some people are able to manage time and achieve a good work to life balance however many find it difficult. These days the lifestyle of people is different from the 8 hour working cycles in the past. The main reason behind this is that workplaces have longer working hours, concurrently, the majority of the population consists of professionals who are working in specialised fields. While being a part of these industries, employees are in contact with clients due to which they are accountable. This culture causes companies to expect more out of employees within shorter working hours, moreover, due to high competition in the market employees are required to live up to higher expectations. For example, in consultancies, where, the client requirements keep changing. To meet with the changing needs, we are under pressure to meet deadlines in a shorter period, which would prevent loss due to extended schedules. Eventually, the outcome of this is longer working hours that disrupts work to life balance. Although, there are some people who are able to manage this situation by being more productive during normal working hours and maintaining a strict routine. Following the above argument, it is also important to find ways to tackle this problem. It is necessary that companies should have managers who are able to analyse the program at an early stage. Not only should a manager be able to identify program, but also the amount of resources required to complete a task. In addition to the above, it is also ideal that employees notify their management on personal requirements. For Instance, at my workplace, the management is unable to plan and cost an assignment correctly, because of which, they are short of funds and unable to hire the right number of workers. This leads to extended working hours and unsatisfied staff. To conclude, it is recommended that people and organisations take into account the needs of the company and integrate it with personal obligations, so as to achieve healthier lifestyles. Nevertheless, it is advisable to prioritise their time not only for work, but also for family and themselves.