Some governments provide free healthcare for their citizens, but other governments do not provide any health service at all, and their citizens are expected to rely on private healthcare provision. The benefits of government-provided free healthcare far outweigh the disadvantages.

In this day and age, in some countries, free and public healthcare system services are introduced by the government in order to adapt to the urgent needs of citizens, while in other parts of the world, many people mainly rely on private healthcare provision. In this essay, I am going to argue that the noticeable merits of public healthcare service outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, public healthcare could also have various downsides. First and foremost, free medical services often lack the quality and have fewer doctors, nurses and medical instruments. This makes the diagnosis of a disease harder and people often get poor services from such a free camp. They have to wait for a long time and this is detrimental for patients who need emergency medical attention. Furthermore, corruption often drains a large amount of money and adds burden to the government. However, these can all be controlled if proper measures are taken. In fact, the drawbacks of free public medical service are not a good excuse to support it. On the other hand, the benefits of government-provided healthcare system far more significant than the shortcomings. To commence with, the private healthcare system may be costly making the underprivileged unable to afford the expensive fee, while, some people who rely on free healthcare can gain easier access to the basic service essential for living standards. Precisely, government provision of healthcare is valued by poorer people, which prevents the elderly worrying about the affordability of treatments. As an illustration, some studies have shown that thanks to the affordable medical fee, the proportion of people who suffer from illnesses decreased significantly in the last decade. In conclusion, although I recognize the downsides of the public healthcare system, I would contend that the benefits are much more significant.