Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this overweigh its disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, since the globalization becomes trendy in the world, foreign language competence has been accentuated as an indispensable requirement for every individual. It has been argued that youngsters had better commence acquiring a new language at elementary school rather than senior high school. In my vantage point, I consider this outlook to have both productive and adverse aspects. To begin with, in primary level, pupils learn new things more quickly and have a long lasting memory. Many researchers have advocated that the age between 4 and 8 is the best period to gain new knowledge; thus, primary level is the most ideal period to get exposed to different languages. Furthermore, approaching new language upgrades juveniles’ cognitive competence and enables them to enhance their language wellness. Consequently, it lays the basis for pupils’ success in the higher grade, hence children will have dominance over other counterparts in studying and performing as well. Beneficial as this trend is, it is worth contemplating that there are some adversities. In this age, the kids have to learn their mother tongue. In fact, most of first-grade pupils are usually busy practicing spelling and hand-writing just for learning a letter in alphabetical system. Approaching new language too soon may put extra burden on students which prompt them to be overloaded. Besides that, giving prominence to language acquisition, children have less chances to engage in outdoor activities, so being in the verge of inadequate of societal experience is what children face up with. In brief, although learning a foreign language early may leave a few adverse impacts, it still has some propitious advantages. I strongly assert that the utilities overweigh its harms.