In the past, school children usually learnt by listening to their teacher and by studying their books. Nowadays, many school children learn by using technology in the classroom instead. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

During the past few years, the learning pattern of the students has changed dramatically. Traditional schooling focused more on classroom and book-based learning, while modern learning focuses more on the use of technologies. Although advanced technologies impart flexibility in learning, it lacks the feedback and accuracy of the information. In the following paragraphs, I am going to emphasis on positive and negative effects of this development. The greatest benefit of using books as a source of study is that those are more reliable. Scientist and writers spent their valuable time on getting the fact and writing books which are evidenced based and authenticated. Secondly, in-class learning creates a lively environment for learning. They can ask their question directly to the teacher who has much experience and knowledge in a specific subject area. For example, during my high school period, I was weak in maths. I have tried to get online tuitions on probability chapter. But I found that I learned better about this while I was discussing my confusions with my teacher. On other hand, this style of gaining knowledge is limited, as we need a teacher or a book whenever we want to learn. In other words, we are more dependent on physical sources. Availability of different online learning modules solves the problem of over-dependence on physical sources. Student can learn anytime and anywhere. Unlike the traditional method, they do not need to follow specific time-table or class schedule. Moreover, the student can access to some online journals and result of certain research on their area of study. In contrast, there are chances of getting trapped in the wrong information. Because some information which is available online is not much accurate, and anybody can post and edit that information. So, finding a trustworthy learning module is a crucial decision which growing students might find difficult, and get accused by faulty information. To conclude, school-based learning help to gather research-based information while use of the technologies gives more flexibility in learning. Both have their advantages and disadvantages, so the student should focus on their learning outcomes and choose the method of studying wisely.