Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Dressing a special attire in the workplace has become a law implemented by numerous establishments. Although several benefits of costumes exist, other drawbacks are still worth considering. On the one hand, one chief advantage out of dressing in the same outfit is that it eliminates the discrepancy amongst colleagues. In other words, the wage of numerous employees is insufficient to purchase expensive clothes in order to wear it during working hours. Moreover, acquiring a unified dress affords the organization the amenity to apply job rotation smoothly. As reported in a study conducted by AUB University in 2010, the majority of banks decided to adopt a unique apparel for all their personnel in order to operate in various departments. Hence, the difference among staff is curbed by enforcing a precise dress code. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of wearing uniform is that it can be boring. This means, A regular clothing can affect the worker self-expressing and normally numerous staff does not like to wear same clothes on regular basis. Furthermore, people have their own choice and if they are not comfortable in their uniform, a declining in performance will occur. To clarify, a colleague of mine in the sales department always suffering from wearing the same uniform every day, he got an exception from the HR to wear his own clothes at work, he became more proactive after this permission. Thus, job place can become less enjoyable by applying dress code. To conclude, a frequent companies restricted all staffs to wear a uniform which proposes various pros like equality between workers, it also lays numerous cons such as workplace become less enjoyable.