Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

While It is often believed that the Olympic Games are just useless budget spend, others would argue that they create rare occasions that make people from around the world feel closer. In my opinion, the cost of conducting events such as the Olympic Games is enormous and does not recoup itself. On the one hand, people often think that the Olympics bring people from different nations together because sport is a universal thing for people from various countries. In other words, it provides an opportunity to share the same agenda and to experience the same sensations for millions of people, regardless of where they are from. Moreover, a lot of people come from abroad to visit the country that hosts games. For example, during the year 2014, when the Games in Sochi took place, more than 20 million tourists visited Russia and thus, they have learned more about Russian culture. Personally, I do not share this viewpoint as I believe that other, much cheaper, ways of bringing people together must exist. On the other hand, many are in the belief that it is a waste of money owing to the fact that the infrastructure which is built to conduct Olympics is used rarely after. Moreover, in many cases, the cost of constructing these stadiums, courts and slopes is higher than the country’s expenditures on education and medicine combined. Furthermore, these are citizens who repay such spends through taxes. Hence, this money ought to serve more crucial needs foremost. I do support these concerns and reckon that if this money was invested in uplifting living standards, this would be more beneficial for society. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I hold the view that the Olympics is a waste of budget, that could be used much better otherwise.