Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Undoubtedly, living in a foreign country requires speaking its native language and this can be quite challenging despite all the efforts made in preparation for that. Irrespective of the language level which an individual might have, they are not insured against issues of social or practical character for a number of reasons. On the one hand, any individual living in a foreign country is bound to have social issues, even when their level of language is good. Despite that, there might be situations in which the person will not be able to fit in completely due to nuances of meaning in the discourse they are not familiar with or a particular slang word; not to mention a different culture where food, clothes, behavior, social habits are different. Making friends could be difficult as well as loneliness since family members are away. On the other hand, there are practical problems and they are no way easier than the social ones. Finding a suitable accommodation may take a while since unexpected problems can deter plans, while registering one’s address with the police, issuing a social security number and a bank card are sometimes even more troublesome. In addition, attending interviews in order to find a job is always nerve racking. To sum up, no matter how advanced level of the native language a foreigner can showcase, I am convinced that encountering difficulties is inevitable. However, overcoming them is easier for those speaking the mother tongue well and, sadly, arduous for those whose level is below intermediate, despite the numerous translation apps which alleviate the burden to some extent. Therefore, being prepared for life abroad is essential.