In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason behind this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is an irrefutable fact that in several nations across the globe, the main objective of shopping has changed from serving human needs to becoming a recreational activity. This essay would first address the origins of this phenomenon, then accept the claim that impulsive buying is a negative trend. It is possibly said that this issue may be caused by some main factors. This is because shopping malls are attractive and have popular sources of recreational activity, which led to the fact that more and more people go to the malls not only for shopping but also to hang out with their friends and family. Another factor leading to this situation is stress. This means that the fast-paced corporate culture and competitive work atmosphere make for a difficult work-life balance, leads people to become compulsive shoppers. To illustrate, a recent poll done by the Indian Government found that more than 80 percent of people go shopping just to relieve themselves from work-related tensions and depression. Henceforth, chasing the rat race and career progress are considered as the chief culprit behind this leisure activity. However, several negative aspects should be taken into consideration. The main disadvantage of careless shopping is putting a financial burden on people. Specifically, people spend a huge portion of their income on purchasing unnecessary products, rather than investing them in other useful fields such as children's education, the insurance sector, and other financial instruments. One additional disadvantage of this form of entertainment would be little to no time to participate in other healthy activities like cricket, badminton, and others. From my perspective, such healthy activities would help them to gain leadership skills and boost up their personalities. In conclusion, shopping is essential and inevitable part of daily life. However, it should not be considered as a hobby well as you should utilize time for other healthy activities.