Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Growth in budget airlines catering mostly to tourist destinations has fueled air traffic in recent times. Paradoxically, air traffic volume has also contributed to noise pollution and unplanned development. A section of society is concerned about the negative influence of growing air traffic and suggests regulations through heavy taxation. I believe such a step is a move in the wrong direction and strongly disagree with such opinion. Over the course of this essay I will provide reasons for such disagreement. On the contrary, heavy taxes will cause a rise in airfare and provide a death blow to budget airlines. This in turn will hurt local businesses and economy. First of all, aviation industry fuelled by growth of budget airlines has energised hospitality and tourism industry. Due to reduced airfare, more tourists travel to holiday destinations than ever before. This in turn has rejuvenated local economy as more high paying jobs get created in hospitality industry. For example, with more budget airlines flying to Bagdogra airport, economy of Sikkim has got a shot in the arm with arrival of record number of tourists. Secondly, increase in air traffic volume has necessitated either expansion of existing infrastructure or construction of new airports. Also new roads, flyovers have been built to improve connectivity. Consequently local economy has greatly benefitted from upgraded infrastructure. If budget airlines were to increase fare due to high taxes, tourist influx will reduce pushing local economy into recession. Instead smart urban planning is the need of the hour to control air traffic volume. New airports should be built outside the city limits with restrictions for residential development in and around new airports. For existing airports inside city limits, restriction on flight movement during late night and early morning will help to reduce air and noise pollution to a certain extent. Having considered a range of arguments, I have drawn the conclusion that aviation industry plays a vital role in boosting local economy and heavy taxation on airlines will deal a death blow to economy and jobs. Smart urban planning can control air and noise pollution to a great extent without hindering growth.