Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media is one of the most popular modes across for everyone around the globe to communicate and sharing private details. This practice may come with a price. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the pros and cons of this practice. Social media is a good place to publish personal information and can see those to others instantly. This is a good place to see old friends and post their old memories as well as current information. Due to the developments of the world peoples are moving around and friends or family members live scatted and difficult to see physically. So even from the long-distance, through social media, we can see each other’s latest information on a regular basis. This will help to maintain our relationships/bonds strongly. Cybercrime is ever-increasing and social media is one of the best playgrounds for it. Law enforcements regularly reminds and warns the public danger of sharing private information online. It is common practice that criminals use fake social media accounts using private images of others. Blackmailing using personal information on social media is one of the widespread crime Law enforcement of Sri Lanka found that on several occasions few of burglary were in place because buglers noted that owners of those houses were away as they have published their travel images instantly online. Social media is one of the most popular places to share private information online. Always, there are two sides to this habit. My opinion is that this practice has more advantages than disadvantages if people use this platform wisely.