Smoking is an unhealthy habit and thus must be prohibited in all public places.

Smoking is considered to be unhealthy but is often done in public settings. There is an opinion that smoking in public places should be banned. I strongly agree with this statement, but at the same time, I believe there are some exceptions and adjustments which have to be considered. Firstly, when people smoke in public, they may harm other people’s health as well. In other words, smoking is one of the habits that not only harms the person doing it, but also those around them. This is particularly disadvantageous when smokers occupy children’s playgrounds or bus stops where bystanders are affected. This can result in an increase in cases of respiratory diseases and people who have asthma may be severely damaged. Secondly, smoking is the cause of lung cancer and a few other sicknesses. People are well aware of the consequences of smoking, but they continue doing so. When they make smoking a part of their regular routine, other people are influenced to pick up this habit as well. In schools, for example, peer pressure forces children aged 11-12 start smoking. As for general statistics, more than a billion people smoke regularly and this number is only predicted to rise, which means a total ban of tobacco in public place could be helpful. Despite arguments made above, I can also add that there are certain exceptions or changes that could be made. For example, in most of the popular restaurants, sections are divided into “smoking” and “non-smoking” areas which means people are given a choice. The similar example can be made about bus stops in some European countries, where the parts of those locations are also split for those who smoke and those who are annoyed by smoking. To sum up, I still believe that banning smoking in general is a great idea, because it only benefits the health of smokers and those who do not smoke. However, banning smoking totally does not seem realistic at this point, but creating separate sections for smokers is already in popular practice.