Smoking is a habit which claims many lives and is a great drain on health services. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of such a government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

The obsession of smoking causes deterioration in health which can be burden for healthcare services. Some people observe that it should be banned under the authority of government policy. The advantages and disadvantages would come out by prohibiting smoking as illegal and I am of the opinion that the more benefit outcome might come out in ways of banning smoking. However, other solutions to combat smoking might have in different ways from disagreement situation. There exist a number of reasons why I think that prohibition of smoking will turn out to be upsides for health sectors. In terms of individual’s health, smokers will most likely suffer from lungs cancer and according to the research of World Health Organization, the second-hand smokers, who breathe in smokers’ smoke, are facing Asthma and other disease in lungs the same way as smokers, as well as their life line will not be long living. By forbidding smoking, the invested expense in cures lung cancer would reduce on public healthcare sector and this budget could be saved for other medical supports. In addition, the fire cases on properties were started from the still-burning leftover of cigarettes in general. In that kind of incident, I had encountered running from Yuzana Plaza where the burning leftover cigarette was fall on the couch of furniture shop from car parking floor. Nevertheless, the downsides of making smoking as illegal should be considered as well. As a result of it, the group of smoking addicted probably offend with protests and political conflict will occur from workers from cigarette companies, smokers and guise people who willing to have civil rights in the purpose of political strikes. This could lead to society unstable and risks for the government. Alternatively, I believe that other strategies should be considered to avoid disadvantages by implementing on combating smoking. In particular, the campaigns for pointing out the side effects on environment and even for individual regarding public health should be arranged on media and public areas. Furthermore, government should practice collecting fines for smoking in public places and setting tax increase on tobacco products in order to people feel guilty and hesitate. At the same time, government authorities should instructed how tobacco industries transform to another product line by considering to avoid country’s unemployment rate enlargement. To sum up, all these above mentioned facts should be considered for government budgets on healthcare funds and populace with respect to be having advantage on individuals’ health, but making smoking straight to illegal cannot be the only way to stop it and government should emphasize on educating and implementing tobacco industries’ recovery plan in all aspect of strategies for future.