Modern technology is changing our world. This has advantages such as bringing people closer together through communication. It also has disadvantages such as destroying cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology is evolving at rapid pace, which has affected people’s life tremendously. Some people believe it is beneficial as people can easily interact with each other, where as other contradict by saying that it is immensely spoiling one’s cultural norms. I partially agree with the statement and the following essay will substantiate my view. Undeniably, technology has revolutionized the concept of communication. Firstly, the most significant impact is the speed, which has drastically increased. Due to electronic devices people are able to communicate with their kith and kin despite geographical boundaries. To exemplify, during this pandemic of COVID-19, where people are bound to stay at home, they can virtually meet their relative using video conferencing. In addition, it increases the efficiency of a business process by performing more tasks in less time. Telecommuting offers more flexibility which has shown to increase employee productivity. Moreover, execution and implementation of a lot of business processes has become swift and hassle-free. Technology influences everyday life and has a strong influence on culture. Although, it allows intermixing cultures, there are some drawbacks to it. Young generation tend to follow the rituals of other areas and considered their own tradition and culture extremely old-fashioned and boring. They fail to understand how such acts could drift them away from their cultural values and can lose identity. In fact, all this has happened because the invention of the internet, converting the whole world into a global village where people has been following other trends and adopting other country's norms and totally neglecting their own traditional backgrounds. For instance, languages can be intermixed and vocabulary can be changed, which poses risk to several languages. Another example is western outfits replacing the traditional Asian dresses.