Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

Parents all over the world strive to raise their children as well-mannered and disciplined individuals. Physical punishment is becoming increasingly popular among them to instill discipline among their offspring. This essay will argue why smacking children is absolutely unnecessary and inappropriate, and it is not the only way when it comes to controlling their behavior. Some parents are of the view that corporal punishment is the most effective method to discipline their child. The reason which they present mainly is that inflicting physical pain over something unruly has long-lasting effects on the memory and prevents them from repeating the same erratic behavior in the future. Others say that sometimes the child behaves so obstinately that they are left with no other choice than to spank them. For instance, a recent research study conducted by Harvard University showed that 34% of the parents were forced to smack their children just because of their repetitive eccentric code of conduct. Therefore, parents resort to physically punishing them to reinforce their behavior because of their apprehension that the child might get spoiled if not controlled. Whilst some people believe that smacking children is the only means of controlling their inappropriate behavior, the idea of causing physical pain to a defenseless minor and undue use of the power of an adult is absolutely preposterous. It not only affects the children psychologically, making them rebellious towards their parents but imparts an abysmal impact on their personality as well. The children develop a fear of their elders instead of having respect for them. On the contrary, they should have an amicable relationship with their parents, so that they may completely confide in them for sharing their secrets. A recent study proved that the children, whose parents maintain cordial and friendly terms with them, grow up to be more successful and better human beings than those who do not. Thus it is completely plausible to control the inappropriate behavior of their children, just by proper communication and counseling by the parents if done correctly. This essay argued that the parents, who consider corporal punishment such as smacking as the only means of infusing discipline among children, are totally misguided and need to be educated in this regard. Hence, in my opinion, using physical power over a child is completely unacceptable and inapt and should absolutely be discouraged.