Should we ban cars from our roads?

Humans have always been fascinated by the new modes of transport whether it be cars or planes. Since the invention of cars in the 19th century, the ownership of cars has been increasing rapidly, especially in the developed countries like Britain. There has been a discussion that there are far too many cars on our roads and a shift is needed towards other modes of transportation. This essay will discuss why alternative modes of transport should emerge to replace cars. Firstly, an increasing number of cars are contributing heavily to greenhouse gas emissions. Diesel and patrol-run motor vehicles are a major source of pollution and environmental degradation in major cities around the world. Governments around the globe spend billions of dollars on their health care systems to treat diseases and deficiencies caused by private motor vehicle pollution. For example, the USA spent $23 billion in 2017 to fight lung diseases caused by transport pollution, according to research conducted by the department of transportation. Therefore, authorities should invest in other modes of transport such as trains and trams and discourage the ownership of cars. Secondly, countries are struggling with infrastructure to cater to the rapidly increasing number of cars. People around the world spend hours and hours in traffic every day due to congestion, and this in return reducing the productivity of the economies. For example, according to the data collected by the Chinese government, an average Wuhan car owner spent one hour daily while being stuck in traffic. In conclusion, the increasing number of car ownerships are a major source of pollution and infrastructure problems. In my opinion, Governments should spend heavily on public transport and discourage the private ownership of cars at any cost.