Should the government focus more on preserving natural environment and less on economic development?

With the development of our society, the conflict between natural environment protection and economic advancement. There is no denying that the development of the economy benefits our daily life and makes society prosper. However, the unprecedented environmental problems are closely associated with economic development. I strongly believe that the government should focus more on preserving the natural environment. First and foremost, protecting the natural environment is more effective than economic development in promoting people's living conditions. As known to all, people value the importance of environment around the where they live in, as a result, more improved natural environment will significantly make them more effectively work and release mental pressure. In the long term, the way to preserve natural environment will diffuse the positive psychological health in the total society, which strongly helps people happier and more healthy, maximize people's living conditions. Though, the development of economy will give people financial improvement, the worse natural environment will affect the increment eventually. In addition, the more focus on preserving natural environment promotes diverse technology, which has more chance to increase industrial and economic advancement. Take the case of my hometown, a typical small city among thousands of others in China, which once diverts a huge amount of funds into preserving natural environment. With the limitation in producing less industrial waste and land depletion, local companies find their way to increase economic growth in promoting their technologies. As a result, more effective and less natural resources consumption productions are invented. Due to the diverse greener industry, my hometown has become much more competitive in economic development. Nevertheless, a voice arises that the government should implement more effective policies to develop economy, which is the most effective way to make progress in changing the world. Ironically, without the suitable natural environment, the less effective development in economy tends to form negative atmospheres in our society in the long term. In a nutshell, I maintain that the government should focus more on preserving the natural environment. Therefore, preserving natural environment is not only the key solution to tackle the economic development but paves the way to change our world in the future.